Exploring the Islands of Turks and Caicos


Turks and Caicos Islands

are a British Overseas Territory located in the Caribbean Sea. This archipelago consists of 40 different islands and cays, of which only 8 are inhabited. From the main tourist resort of Providenciales to the quiet and peaceful islands of North and Central Caicos, each one offers a unique experience and character. All of them offer excellent weather, beaches and underwater activities all year round.The islands import food, beverages, tobacco, clothing, manufacturing and construction materials mainly from the United States and the United Kingdom.

Close to North and Central Caicos, the East Bay Islands National Park offers spectacular sounds and shallow water. North and South Caicos have limited entry facilities, while all other islands have domestic airports.Providenciales International Airport is the main point of entry to the Turks and Caicos Islands, while JAGS McCartney International Airport serves the capital, Cockburn Town, on Grand Turk Island. Grand Turk and Salt Cay offer a glimpse into Caribbean history with great Bermudian architecture and rustic charm, as well as some of the best diving spots. The Turks and Caicos Islands have a tropical savanna (AW) climate, with relatively constant temperatures throughout the year.In 2002, the British Overseas Territories Act restored full British citizenship to all citizens of British Overseas Territories, including the Turks and Caicos Islands.

In addition, you must go through immigration control in Providenciales to go to another island in the Turks and Caicos Islands group. The Turks and Caicos Islands participate in the Caribbean Development Bank, are partners in CARICOM, members of the Universal Postal Union and maintain an Interpol sub-office.Most of the care is provided by partner hospitals between the public and private sectors managed by Interhealth Canada, a hospital in Providenciales and a hospital on Grand Turk Island. The Turks and Caicos Islands Regiment will focus on increasing the nation's security and will receive training in engineering and communications in case of natural disasters.Inhabited islands in this archipelago include Parrot Cay, Pine Cay, Ambergris Cay, Grand Turk Island, Salt Cay, North Caicos %26 Central Caicos. When Jamaica was granted independence from Great Britain in August 1962, the Turks and Caicos Islands became a Crown colony.